Mysteria Mundi
Mysteria Mundi Podcast
Introducing Snippets! #1: Myth and Mystery
0:00
-9:58

Introducing Snippets! #1: Myth and Mystery

Random unedited thoughts on the relationship between myth and mystery, and what the ancient Greeks can teach us about both. Shoutout to my fellow Crip storyteller, Joy, for asking the question.
A recent ice storm in Brooklyn.

Sometimes I just want to preserve an ephemeral moment or thought, like the ice that recently enclosed the seedpods on my terrace flowerbeds.

I don’t know why I never thought of this “snippet” format before, but maybe it’s a way of doing just that…posting 5-10 minute tiny audio clips on topics that are currently banging around my head. For instance:

A lot of times while I'm researching I either come across something really cool but that doesn't fit neatly into an essay.

Or I get asked a question by a reader, student, or fellow mystic wanderer.

Or I’m just walking down the street and thinking about ancient Greek esotericism (yes really) and a Deep Thought(TM) pops into my head.

So big shoutout to my friend Joy, who inspired this first Snippet! Joy is part of a Crip storytelling/critical theory community I’m in that is inspired by the work of “post-humanist” (I prefer “animist”) philosopher Bayo Akomolafe. We share art, music, conversation, thoughts, stories on all sorts of topics. But Joy recently asked the group, “What is the relationship between the words ‘myth’ and ‘mystic’?”

I responded by recording this little 10 minute “snippet” of my thoughts on the topic, and realized only afterwards that I should/could share with you all! I cover the etymology of the two words, their relationship in ancient Greek culture and practice, and what their relationship potentially means for us today.

So here they are. Completely unedited, somewhat rambling. Direct from my mind to yours.

Lmk what you think. And ofc, feel free to drop questions for future snippet topics in the comments!

0 Comments
Mysteria Mundi
Mysteria Mundi Podcast
Ancient Mediterranean wisdom and resources for becoming sacred ground